Goodbye

The first day I saw you,
I still remember,
You were a prodigy,
but obviously,
I was oblivious to that.
and gave you a few maths problems to solve
You solved them all in a jiffy,
Then it dawned to me that perhaps,
You were more than what I thought you to be.
Grade 6 went in a blur
So did grade 7
Grade 8 we socialized a lot.
I called you at 10 pm at night and you never put me off.
You were always there for me.
A constant in my life of variables.
A drop of water in the drought of my life
A happy song in my vast labyrinth of suffering
An eternal boon,
But now you say that you’re going
You’re going forever
Who will pick up my calls at 11 pm to solve my doubts?
Who will ask me what’s wrong? when I’m down?
Who will give me suggestions when I’m beginning to drown?
Who will my mother compare me with, when I’m being a clown?
You self-aggrandizing bastard,
Leaving us all here
Seeking a future that we could never imagine,
Toying with the present, leaving us scarred
Never forget us,
You vain little faggot
I’ll miss you tons
Make sure you call me once every month
Have a good life in the future,
But never forget  your past
Goodbye!

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lol, faggot! Make Amartya read this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chotu2 says:

    This left me in tears. Thanks a million adt. A arrow aimed directly at my heart, this poem was.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Adt Patel says:

    Vibha, I did 🙂
    Chotu, I’m glad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

