Leave

She peeked out of her hiding place
And saw me gazing at the sky
She slowly walked over to me
And softly sat on my lap
What are you thinking, mommie?
Asked my little angel with a confused look on her face
I smiled at my little wizard
And told her to go and play
But she took after her dad
A stubborn little thing trying to intimidate me
I tilted my head and laughed
And I told her about how I was thinking about the man
Who gave birth to her
My father she said slowly
Savoring every word spoken
Yes, darling
He was supposed to be your father
He was supposed to be the pillar of immense strength
He was supposed to be the guiding light and love
And yet, he chose to leave
She was 1 years old when I came to know
That father dear had many places to call his home
That he had many daughters to play with
And many wives to control
I left him and ran away
With my little baby in arms
I ran until the blisters in my feet bled
And until my heart could bear no more
And until the stars fell down
And until I reached another town
We built a new home
And we live here ever since then

7 years have passed
And yet somehow I remember the man
Who promised to give me the whole world at my feet
And ended up giving in to the demons of his greed.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Well potrayed πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. hooklineandinkwell says:

    A sad reality for far too many…you write this delicately and with respect as most would write in anger…well-done

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Thank you so much. For all the comments. You don’t know how much it means to me, having loyal readers and people who comment on my posts and let me know how y’all feel. Really. Much appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hooklineandinkwell says:

        If someone takes the time to write, and I take the time to read, then I must take the time to respond :)…you are always welcome!!

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

