Lost

Everytime I try to persuade myself
To soothe my frantic mind
Trying to convince me that all my troubles will go
And that we’ll be normal again
My silent woes backfire onto me
And I get reminded of everything I couldn’t be
A good daughter, a good friend, a good student
I let the world set my insecurities loose
And I watch myself in the mirror
Everyday a piece shatters and falls away
Everyday a piece of me dies
I try to stop the pain
I try to muffle my cries
Trust me, I try to hide it
Every time a problem comes knocking my door
I fall down and don’t stand up again
Every time a hurdle faces me
I shrink down and cry silently
Why don’t I have the strength in me to fight back?
Why am I not strong enough?
Will I ever be able to fulfill the expectations set around?
Will I ever be able to subvert the negativity and make room?
Every time hope peeks at me
I hide even deeper in my sorrows
Every time kindness sets it’s foot on my door
I let the sound of my footsteps answer for me
Is this every going to stop?
The night is truly eating me alive.

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Aenne says:

    hang on! you’re strong enough if you’ve made it through the night πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Aww, yes I will. What other choice do I have anyway haha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Toad says:

    “The night is truly eating me alive.”

    That is a great line…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. hooklineandinkwell says:

    (sigh) this is so very relatable…great penning!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Adt Patel says:

      I know, right? Thank you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      1. hooklineandinkwell says:

        You are welcome πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

  4. woww .. could easily co-relate with myself. beautifully crafted feelings. Nice one Adt πŸ™‚ U rockk

    Liked by 2 people

  5. rfmtkn says:

    Meditation…..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. cmrsyk1985 says:

    It’s just a trick, really. Strength hides in pain, just like we do…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      It’s a cruel trick though.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. cmrsyk1985 says:

        Agreed…best of luck

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Adt Patel says:

        Thank you πŸ™‚

        Liked by 3 people

  7. wwwpalfitness says:

    Reblogged this on wwwpalfitness.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is a wonderful eerie series of lines:

    Every time hope peeks at me
    I hide even deeper in my sorrows
    Every time kindness sets it’s foot on my door
    I let the sound of my footsteps answer for me

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Beautiful lines..I am in love with your writing style and flow of thoughts. Looking forward to reading more of your work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Thank you so much!
      Glad you liked them πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

