Coward

I am afraid,
Terrified actually,
What if I give you my heart?
And you crush it to pieces,
It has happened before,
It will happen again,
Yet I cannot brace myself for the pain
And the melancholy.

What if you break my trust?
It will shatter like glass,
And the splinters will prick my soul
Till my spirits last,
I will bleed
And I will cry
But none will come,
To fix me this time.

Call me weak,
Call me fragile,
But I don’t have the strength
To be torn up one more time,
With great difficulty,
I fixed myself once,
But i don’t have the courage to try it again,
For I might be brave,
I might be fearless,
But when it comes to love,
My faith wavers,
For all I am is a mere coward.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. chillymilly says:

    You write beautifully. I hope you’re doing okay.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vivs.potterhead says:

      Thank You! And yes I’m doing great now….thanks for asking 🙂

      Like

  2. Amra Ismail says:

    Beautifully written. I don’t think it is cowardice to refuse another possible time of heartache. It takes all the courage to make such a decision. It is difficult to make up your mind after a heartbreak and is even more difficult to enter into another relationship knowing the price of a break up. It is strength in you that makes you stay away, not cowardice my friend. Be strong.
    Beautiful lines 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vivs.potterhead says:

      Thank you for the compliments….and it may not seem like cowardice but in my opinion, it is the lack of strength to fearlessly plunge into another relationship simply because you got hurt once….but your opinion makes sense too….so I guess it really depends on the situation…:)

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Zubaida basrai says:

    Oh My God. THIS❤️. Purvi you’re amazing 🔥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vivs.potterhead says:

      Thank you Zubaida!

      Like

Leave a Reply

