Expectations

She would talk to people once
Would burst at their desks and greet them with wide smiles
People called her a freak and laughed at her
She was hurt

She stopped talking to people
Would sit in a corner and read books all day
People called her a loner and ungrateful
She was hurt

She left you forever
She never cried and you did
People called her emotionless
And they pitied you

She left you forever
She let down a tear or two
People called her a whiner
And they pitied you

She was burdened down with expectations
That never seemed to cease
She was a bright girl with a bright future
Until she was burned down in their rage

She had not the words to speak to anyone with
She did not know how to
Say one more comment
Only to be termed of being something she was not
Again.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Ameena k.g says:

    The story of her reminds me of the saying- “damned if you do, damned if you don’t”. She just was never enough for them. Adt, I love this story and connect with it emotionally.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Ameena, always a pleasure 🙂
      I’m glad you could connect. Personally, I’ve experienced all I wrote. It really sucks you know; no matter how hard I try, people have to be mean and unpleasant about everything.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ameena k.g says:

        No wonder this piece felt different, natural- it was real.
        Write more like this Adt, it’s beautiful and honest. Sorry, to her that. People can be mean. As hard as it is, just got to learn to do your own thing without seeking their validation. Those who matter, would always support. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Adt Patel says:

        Thank you Ameena.
        It’s just that, I thought they cared, you know. I’ve known most of them since i was 8 years old and yet, just because of some new variables in their life, they choose to go against me.
        It’s okay, I guess. I did learn that they never cared.
        I’m just ranting now haha.
        But thank you so much ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, this is a powerful piece! Once upon a time, this was the story of my life. Luckily, I managed to survive! Keep it up, I loved this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

