Traits

I wasn’t born with selflessness in me
I learnt it watching my mom on a spree
Of tending to wounds and empty stomachs
She gave up on her impeccable beauty

I wasn’t born with love in me
I learnt it when my brother cuddled me
With a shine in his eyes, he’d look up to see
His sister, his world, kissing his cheek

I wasn’t born with hatred towards me
I learnt it in high school when no one really talked to me
The mirror showed me what the world would see
And I discovered the imperfections growing in me

I wasn’t born with anger in me
I learnt it when I was bullied as a teen
When they pushed me and tugged at my insecurities
They hurled all their frustration at me

I wasn’t born with a reserved nature in me
I learnt it when I was called a wannabe
I would speak of who I was and who I wanted to be
And then one day I just stopped thinking

I wasn’t born with slyness in me
I learnt it when I saw my best friend turn her back towards me
Stabbing my soul, she saw me weep
And after that, I turned to a new, unclean leaf

These traits I possess empower me
They control my demons and they weaken my will
Who I am isn’t who I was
I am who I am because of what happened to me.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Zubaida says:

    Why are you so good at this? I’m jealous šŸ™ˆ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      And I’m flattered but you’re amajhing too k? :3

      Like

  2. Ameena k.g says:

    Adt. Your recent poems are great girl!!! Keep it up. I’m so proud of you. When you write from the heart, it really turns out amazing šŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Aw. Thank you so so so much šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

