Anxiety

The tiny fragments of my happiness scatter
As my mind combs through millions of possibilities
The negativity that could jump up at my door
As I step out my room
Onto the roads of uncertainty I go
Into the shoes of youth I step
My life stares me in my eyes
Reflecting the mind of Lord Janus
It asks me to choose
Between luxury and a rush of adrenaline
Between short work hours and whole days outside my haven
An impossible choice precedes me
One traps me within and one sets me free.

I make my choice one day
I choose to unfurl my wings and fly
Fear doesn’t leave me on the day in question
It grows in me even more
What if my wings get caught in a branch?
What if the wind takes me to a place where I don’t belong?
What if I get lost in the large and wide world?
What if I lose sight of the strings that tie me to my home?
Happiness thrives rapidly, no doubt
But with all the freedom I choose
Comes the heavy burden of a price
Anxiety.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. alka says:

    Adi,….your are too good. At this stage of life you have so much of understanding and clarity. God bless you. your mausi ……admirer. Keeping writing….

    Anjana……what a person…….loving all her write ups…..keep sharing as we too learn from our kids.

    Happy for all of you. take care…..friends forever.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s beautifully written girl!:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      thank you so much xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing your poem. I can relate to it and enjoyed your words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Thank you for commenting. I hope you’re doing well 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

