Grown up

Today I got my result
And I got all A*s in my test
I showed the result to mother and she cried with happiness
She took me in her lap and caressed my head
Everyone called me a champ
I felt like I was one too

Today I got my result
I got all A*s in my test
I showed the result to mother and she smiled at me
She hugged me hard and patted my back
Everyone told me to keep on the good work
I promised them that I would

Today I got my result
I got all A*s in my test
I showed the result to my mother and she caught a tiny glimpse
She told me to go back to my room and study hard
Everyone said I could do better
I think I did the best I could

Today I got my result,
I got all A*s in my test
I showed the result to my mother and she shooed me away
She screamed at me for being so vain
Everyone called me a sissy
That night I ate no food

Today I got my result,
I got all A*s in my test,
I hid the result in my bed and went to mother
She didn’t ask me how much I got
No one gave me a second glance
This is how it feels when you’ve grown up.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Linita Rane says:

    Growing up is what we have been craving for when were little! And now either I wanna go back to my childhood or just end! 🙂 such is life! Nicely written! Thanks for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      No need for thanks! It’s the way I feel and so I wrote it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Standa says:

    Nice piece. Very nice. True definition of growing up; not seeking praise but patting yourself on the back. It’s about time someone illuminated that! Good read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Thank you so much, and yes, I felt the same way!

      Like

  3. everettblogs says:

    Nice piece. Very nice piece. True definition of growing up; not seeking praise but patting yourself on the back. It’s about time someone illuminated that! Good read!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Anna Matthew says:

    When I was young, it seemed like an obligation to grow up. My younger self was stupid 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      Haha, don’t worry. It’s not just you, trust me! XD

      Like

  5. wwwpalfitness says:

    Reblogged this on wwwpalfitness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

