In another universe

In another universe,
I’m a dictator ruling over a small country located in the extreme corner of the world
People shrink even as they think of my power and all that I’m capable of
I don’t just influence the rules, I make them all on my own

In another universe,
I’m a broken father bent over the starving body of my child
The sunlight hits my skins and crawls right through my bones
There lies no shelter over my head and my torn clothes are an insult to my open gashes

In another universe,
I’m a rich lord and all of my city respects my house
The smell of expensive perfumes drifts off my body and my clear skin glistens under the light
I know not what sadness is and my soul lays content under my chandelier

In another universe,
I’m a troubled teenager struggling to get through high school
I reek of cigarette smoke and my eyes twitch under the influence of caffeine
My grades lay in the D’s and E’s and the only time that I ever recieved congratulations are when I chugged an entire bottle of beer

In another universe,
I’m a mother struggling to pay the house rent
Bills lay scattered all across my room and the light flickers on and off as I wince
The world mocks me when it rains and my roof lets the heavy water droplets fall under my eyes

In another universe,
I’m a newborn child who just entered the world
The doctors smile at me and my mother kisses my forehead
My sister holds me close and tickles my feet as the lights pinch into my eyes, too bright for me to get used to

In another universe,
I’m just another girl who loves to write
My pen twirls around a yellowed sheet of papyrus and produces a beautiful combination of words that I like to call poetry
The world throws problems at my mind and I give them ink stains and a virtual screen full of ramblings as a response.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. p.s. says:

    Wow, I have a similar thing on my blog.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. p.s. says:

      Ohh okay. Give credits next time. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Adt Patel says:

        Hon, your poem is about you and a lover. Mine follows a completely different road. The only things that are similar are the title and that they both talk about alternate universes and the different possibilities of things that could happen. You aren’t the first one to get the idea of things being different in different universes and I’d really appreciate it if you remembered that the next time you went and rubbed it in another people’s faces. Have a good day! πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. I’m amazed by people who articulate the ‘cliches’ of the world so uniquely and brilliantly when every, including myself, dismisses them as hopeless. World needs writers. World needs writers like yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adt Patel says:

      At this point, I don’t know whether to pat myself on the back or grab by you by the shoulders and shake you and tell you to snap out of it! (that’s an Arctic Monkey’s reference aaaa)

      Like

      1. *everybody

        And it’s easy: pat yourself on the back. And have some dessert while you’re at it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment